Jun 132012

Something that a lot of people don’t realize is that, by the political time zone definitions, time zones range from GMT-11:00 to GMT+14:00.  That means, for one hour each day there are three active dates on the globe as shown by this screen capture.   Neither American Samoa (Pago Pago) nor the Line Islands (Kiritimati) observe Daylight Savings Time.

Officially the time zones range from GMT-12:00 to GMT+14:00.  If I’m reading the IANA database correctly Kwajalein was the last location to use the GMT-12:00 designation, and it swapped to GMT+12:00 in 1993. The IANA database information can be found at http://www.iana.org/time-zones.

The above screen shot was taken using the “Planning View” that is part of sdTime 1.2.0 which was just submitted to the Mac App store.  Watch this space (or your App Store Updates) for availability of 1.2.0.